Extraordinary Engines

It took a while (I stopped halfway and read other things), but I’ve just finished reading Extraordinary Engines edited by Nick Gevers. I’m fairly sure that a lot of you will be aware of this book because, lets face it, there are very few collections of Steampunk stories. In fact I’ve only come across two readily available ones.

It has mixed reviews on Amazon but I have to say I really enjoyed it. The Steampunk I write doesn’t really adhere to the G.D. Falksenesque highly Victorianised language and it was pleasing to see that some of these stories also moved away from the traditionally (modern?) form. Please let me point out that I think G.D. Falksen is great and stories written in Victoriana is also great, but I don’t get a bee-in-the-bonnet when they are not. Many of the negative reviews on Amazon seemed to think some of the stories weren’t Steampunk because they didn’t sound like some kitsch version of a Sherlock Holmes story.

My personal favourites include James Lovegrove’s Steampunch, Marly Youmans’ Static, Margo Lanagan’sMachine Maid and Robert Reed’s American Cheetah.

Leave a Reply

